News Release: 33 JAG-K Programs Receive 5 of 5 Award

For the seventh consecutive year, the Jobs for America’s Graduates national organization announced that the Kansas affiliate earned the organization’s 5 of 5 Award.

Additionally, 33 Jobs for America’s Graduates-Kansas (JAG-K) school-based programs earned the prestigious 5 of 5 Award for 2020.

(See below a list of all Kansas schools to receive the award.)

The evidence-based program helps students prepare for post-secondary education and employment opportunities. JAG-K programs across the state, serving approximately 4,000 students, reported a graduation rate of 97 percent for the Class of 2020.

The 5 of 5 Award is bestowed upon those JAG programs that meet or exceed performance measures in five categories: graduation rate, successful outcomes, employment, post-secondary enrollment and job placement. JAG has a 12-month follow-up period with all seniors as part of its evidence-based, data-driven national model.

“To receive the 5 of 5 Award for the seventh year in a row is special. But it’s an even more impressive accomplishment by our Career Specialists and staff to achieve it during the pandemic,” said JAG-K President/CEO Chuck Knapp. “The JAG model proved in the face of adversity to effectively prepare students for successful futures.”

Recipients of the JAG “5 of 5 Award” and their Career Specialist for 2020:

Arkansas City High School                Chad Hopkins

Atchison High School                         Lucus Lanning

Augusta High School                          Christy Pray

Concordia High School                       Jordan Champlin

El Dorado High School                       James Tully

Emporia High School                          Alexandria Macias

Field Kindley High School                  Shayla Reliford

Goodland High School                        Caleb Miles

Great Bend High School                     Jennifer Hopkins

Kiowa Co MS/MY                             Marcus Mitchell

Hays High School                               Johnny Matlock/Trey O’Neil

Holcomb High School                         Amy Wickwar

Hutchinson High School                     Marcus Moeder

Independence High School                  Kristie Hawley

KC Schlagle High School                    Karla Pledger

KC Wyandotte                                   Cynthia Garner

Kingman High School                         Brittany Esposito/Kareema Williams

Labette County High School              Lee Reliford

Lawrence Free State High School       Rebecca Metz

Newton High School                           Tavis Leake

Parsons High School                           Jessica Ryan

Pittsburg High School                         Jessica Thomas

Pratt High School                                Shaphan Staats

Russell High School                            David Hanzlik

Salina Central                                      Andrew “Herm” Dominguez/Renee Krinhop

Salina South                                        Melissa Gates

Stafford High School                           Patrick Dake

Topeka High School                           Teresa Leslie-Canty

Turner High School                             Jordon Crusoe

Wichita Heights High School Ti’Juana Hardwell

Wichita Northwest High School         Nicholas Harris

Wichita Southeast High School           Ashley Baughns

Winfield High School              Tierney Hopkins