35 JAG-K Programs Earn Top National Honor

TOPEKA – For the sixth consecutive year, the Jobs for America’s Graduates national organization announced that the Kansas affiliate earned the organization’s 5 of 5 Award.

Thirty-five Jobs for America’s Graduates-Kansas (JAG-K) programs earned the prestigious 5 of 5 Award for 2020.

The evidence-based program helps students prepare for post-secondary education and employment opportunities. There are 78 programs in schools across Kansas, serving more than 4,200 students. JAG-K students had a graduation rate of 96 percent for the Class of 2020.

The 5 of 5 Award is bestowed upon those JAG programs that meet or exceed performance measures in five categories: graduation rate, successful outcomes, employment, post-secondary enrollment and job placement. JAG has a 12-month follow-up period with all seniors as part of its evidence-based, data-driven national model.

See below a list of all Kansas schools to receive the award.

“The 5 of 5 Award is important because it shows our JAG-K students are meeting and exceeding goals,” said JAG-K President/CEO Chuck Knapp. “While a 96 percent graduation rate is impressive, we are most pleased that our graduates are prepared for successful futures. The JAG model has proven that all students, regardless of barriers, can be successful leaders and reach their full potential.”

JAG-K is a multi-year, in-school program for students in grades seven through 12 that offers tools to successfully transition students into post-secondary school, the military, or directly into the workforce with marketable skills. Participants in the program face multiple barriers to success that their JAG-K Career Specialist helps them overcome through a nationally-accredited, evidence-based model.

The 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization is a state affiliate of the national JAG program network which operates in 40 different states and territories. It is primarily funded through the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families block grant to the State of Kansas administered by the Kansas Department for Children and Families (DCF). In addition to school districts and DCF, JAG-K partners with the Kansas Department of Education. Other JAG-K funding sources include AT&T, Capitol Federal, John Deere, Synchrony Financial and Taco Bell.

To learn more about JAG-K, visit www.jagkansas.org, ‘Jobs for America’s Graduates-Kansas’ on Facebook, and on Twitter at @JAG_Kansas.

            Schools to receive the JAG “5 of 5 Award” and it’s Career Specialist:

Atchison High School                                     Lucus Lanning

Augusta HS                                                     Christy Pray

Basehor-Linwood HS                                     Jessica Glover

Beloit HS                                                        Hiedi Rexroat

Concordia HS                                                  Jordan Champlin

El Dorado AE                                                 Clarence Wagner

Emporia High School (11-12)                       Alexandria Macias

Field Kindley HS (Coffeyville)                      Shayla Reliford

Garden City HS                                                Lynzee Beery

Garden City Alternative                                 Caleb Stewart

Great Bend HS (11-12)                                   Jennifer Hopkins

Greensburg Kiowa Co                                    Marcus Mitchell

Holcomb High School                                     Amy Wickwar

Hutchinson High School                                 Marcus Moeder

Independence HS                                            Kristie Hawley

Junction City AE HD Karns                          Tyra Marteen

KC Schlagle HS (10-12)                                  Karla Pledger

KC Washington HS (11-12)                           Jacob Handy

KC Wyandotte HS (11-12)                            Cynthia Garner

Labette County High School                        Lee Reliford

Lawrence Free State HS                               Rebecca Metz

Liberal High School                             Joel Hannagan

Pittsburg High School                                   Jessica Thomas

Pratt High School                                           Shaphan Staats

Royal Valley HS                                             Jeff Gustin

Salina Central (11-12)                                   Andrew “Herm” Dominguez

Salina South (11-12)                                       Melissa Gates

Salina West AE (11-12)                                  Kipp Keffel

Shawnee Heights HS (11-12)                        Liz Mollett

Shawnee Mission North                               Michael Giarla

Topeka HS (11-12)                                         Teresa Leslie-Canty

Turner HS (11-12)                                          Jordon Crusoe

Wichita Heights HS                                        Ti’Juana Hardwell

Wichita Southeast HS                                   Ashley Baughns

Winfield High School                          Tierney Hopkins